Monday, May 8, 2017

Von Ormy Voters Elect New City Government, Renew Street Maintenance Sales Tax

VON ORMY-- Von Ormy voters went to the polls on Saturday May 6, 2017 to elect a new city government and decide whether to re.  Sally Martinez was elected Mayor by a vote of 82 to 45 (64.5% to 35.5%) over challenger David Farr.  The two City Commissioner positions were won by Deborah Ivy and Alex Quintanilla, both of whom ran unopposed.  Ivy previously served on the City Council in 2014 - 2015.  Alex Quintanilla is a veteran on the Von Ormy City Council having previously served as a City Councilmember, City Commissioner and Mayor-Pro Tem.     The new officials will take office following a canvassing of the election, which should take place by the end of the week. Voter turnout in Von Ormy was comparable to the countywide turnout of 11%.
     Voters also renewed the City's street maintenance sales tax by a vote of 85 to 26 (76.5% to 23.5%).  The street maintenance sales tax is 1/4 cent tax that is used to repair and maintain roads, right of way maintenance, street lighting, signage and litter control.  The tax must be renewed by voters every four years.  Von Ormy is the only city in Bexar County without a property tax and it's sales taxes play an essential role in funding the city.  Von Ormy sales tax collections have been rising over the last two years.  March and April 2017 set record highs for sales tax collections.

Von Ormy Monthly Sales Tax Collection Since Incorporation.